Skip to content

The new New Beetle

April 18, 2011

1998. I was in 5th grade. I attended a book fair – the one’s they hold in school where children always end up buying more junk than they do books. Well it was then that I fell in love – with a car. I spotted a gorgeous poster of a bright yellow car with a tie-dyed background and I immediately bought it. Of course it didn’t help that all my friends were buying that particular poster.

vwbeetle

It was my favorite car for years. As I got older, my latest car obsession would change. But I always had a soft spot for the New Beetle.

Fast forward to 2011. It’s Super Bowl Sunday and VW releases a teaser commercial for the new New Beetle. I’m intrigued, but I don’t think much of it. Then today I log into Twitter and see that #VWBeetle is a promoted trending topic. Of course I click it and I see that the new New Beetle was unveiled. And let’s just say I fell in love again.

2011_vwbeetle

Source

The car is perfect. It’ still retains some of that classic Beetle shape, but it’s more modern. Since it’s release in 1998 it’s grown up. And I have too.

I’m in the market to buy a new vehicle, but that probably won’t be until I get a job. I was seriously considering getting a small SUV. However, the new New Beetle has me second guessing myself. I still have a soft spot for that car. I guess only time will tell whether or not one will be parked in my driveway.

Surprisingly enough I am not a car fanatic. I can’t tell you anything about cars. Nor can I look at one and tell you which model it is. Yet somehow I just wrote an entire post on a car.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

